You are now at a hotel breakfast buffet.

I read about 把 once in a grammar class.  Read about it, not practiced it; there’s no meaningful practice in the “40 Fruits School of Language Non-Teaching.”  I don’t actually know how to use it in the wild.  I do, however, remember the sample sentence:  把門打開。  Open the door.

I remember the explanation; 把’s object is going to be the definite direct object of a transitive verb.  So I can theorize 把食物打包, 把禮物給她, but I don’t know if those sentences actually work.  I’ll ask.

I feel like the key to a 把 lesson is to have the learner manipulate actual objects in space.  So a good activity might be a cooking class.  Or putting items away in their spots.  Or pulling stuff out of a bag/drawer.  That would be the in-the-flesh lesson.

The independent online lesson, on the other hand, would be one of those command based choose your own adventure, text-based role playing games.  That would work.

More later… now:  breakfast buffet.

Leave a Reply

