Shilin Night Market 士林夜市 with Taipei A

Here’s a gallery of a few of my pictures from the 士林夜市 Shilin Night Market.

My friend Taipei A met me; she used to listen to the old SpanishPod lessons.  She may be the funnest person in all of Taiwan; she certainly gets my vote.

The first picture I took was of a sign that said “Frog Eggs” in English; people were lined up to buy.  So then I looked at what they were buying, and there were no frog eggs at all; just some big toad looking limes floating in iced tea.  My teacher says that sometimes they put passion fruit seeds in it, which remind people of tadpoles.  Alas, there are no actual frogs used in this drink; it’s just a gimmick.

Taipei A showed me her favorite place to get 雞排 chicken steak; it’s a half chicken breast that’s butterflied open and then breaded and fried.  She did know the best place; I saw other people eating 雞排s from other places, not looking nearly as GBD as her place.  I felt bad for them.

She also showed me her favorite 起司馬鈴薯,Cheese potato, which they actually called a 起馬鈴薯 here, because… get it, it’s the林夜市, hahaha.  She told me in English that it was a “potato,” so I kept asking, isn’t it a 土豆?And she’s like, JP, it’s NOT a 土豆,it’s a  馬鈴薯.  Later I figured it out:  土豆 on the mainland is a potato, but here it’s a peanut… makes sense, right?  So the Taiwanese potato is called a 馬鈴薯。

Later there was an oyster omelet, which is the most famous thing to eat at a Taiwanese night market.  It’s called a ô-á-chian in Taiwanese; Taipei A didn’t know what it was called in Mandarin.  At the table next to us, a dude was burning his tongue on his oyster omelet, as I think they keep the gravy at a boil.

After that, Taipei A got some brain soup, saying 吃腦子,步腦子 eat brains, improve your brain.

By then we were both full, so we walked around, just to see the shopping.  One of the stands was one I vaguely remember hearing about from Aussie L; they specialized in penis-shaped waffle dogs.

Yes, I said it.  Penis-shaped waffle dogs.

Jokes were cracked; pictures were taken.  At the time I didn’t actually know what was in them; Taipei A clarified to me that there were sausages inside.  OF COURSE.

  • 馬鈴薯 mǎlíngshǔ: potato
  • 罵 : scold; curse, condemn; verbally abuse
  • 蚵仔煎 kēzǐjiān: (Taiwan) oyster omelet
  • 需要 xūyào: to need; to want; to demand
  • 任何 rènhé: any; whatever; whichever
  • 資訊 zīxùn: information
  • 啰 luō: (this character is never used alone) long-winded; (exclamatory particle)
  • 油條 yóutiáo: deep-fried dough stick, a slippery character
  • 親切 qīnqiè: kind; amiable; cordial
  • 泡麵 pàomiàn: instant noodles
  • 泡湯 pàotāng: be gone; finish; to fizzle out; to have all one’s hopes dashed
  • 登機 dēngjī: board (an airplane)
  • 托運 tuōyùn: check in (baggage); consign for shipment
  • 賴床 làichuáng: to laze around in bed
  • 灰色 huīsè: gray; pessimistic; gloomy
  • 黃牛 huángniú: ox; ticket scalper, a flakey, unreliable person
  • 外星人 wàixīngrén: extra-terrestrial; space alien
  • 店員 diànyuán: store clerk; shop assistant; salesperson
  • 鳳梨 fènglí: pineapple
  • 女權 nǚquán: women’s rights

Leave a Reply

