Touched A Nerve

So the response to Stuff White People Like has been tremendous, and highly entertaining. As I said in the previous post, I found the site through Unfogged, which has subsequently published two more related posts: My Thought On Whiteness, and God Hates You All, each of which themselves are worth hours and hours of fun reading. Love it.

Maybe the blog is mean-spirited; maybe white folks would be reaching for high-fives if it were presented by Jeff Foxworthy. Some people are claiming that SWPL is showing liberals in a bad light, and will make people vote Republican (ha!). But let’s face it, no hate crimes will arise from this, no white person is going to lose opportunities for employment, housing, or education because of it. So why has this SWPL getting such a huge response?

Must have touched a nerve. You know, I’ve been living among the Chinese now for five months, and I do find Chinese culture (with a little /c/) baffling sometimes. I’d love to know a) why they can’t let people off the subway? b) why is there only one cashier at the bank? c) why won’t they take back the bad wine? d) why don’t they walk in a straight line when I’m walking behind them?

But I’ve lived among White Americans most of my life, and there are many many honest questions I have about them that still baffle me, like a) how can they drink so much dairy? b) why do they leave shit in my car? c) why do they clap on the 1 and the 3? d) what exactly do they get out of parties where you stand around for hours holding a beer? Couldn’t you achieve all those same goals without the standing around for hours part?

So here’s a question: If I started a website in China, wrote it in Chinese, and I listed things that Chinese people like, for example, dogs, recycling, or only having one employee at a bank who is qualified to accept money, do you think Chinese people would give a rat’s ass? Neither do I.

4 thoughts on “Touched A Nerve

  1. OMG YOU ARE SAYING THAT CHINESE PEOPLE ARE BETTER THAN WHITE PEOPLE THAT IS SO RACIST DON’T YOU KNOW THAT WHILE WE’RE RECYCLING AND DRINKING FREE TRADE COFFEE THEY’RE PUTTING LEAD IN CHILDREN’S TOYS!!?!1!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

