Chega De Saudade

So the new chart at jazz ensemble yesterday was No More Blues (Chega De Saudade).

So the original is Brazilian Portuguese; click here for the lyrics with their English equivalent. It’s a charming song about the woman that got away, wishing you had her back. Like most bossa nova songs, the simplicity of its presentation masks a minefield of sophisticated jazz chords… i.e., accidentals. Oh, A section is minor, B and C are major.

There are English lyrics, but they’ve kind of got an anti-travel, give-up-on-your-adventures, everything-is-better-back-home, domestic-bliss type theme to them. I’ll be singing the Portuguese lyrics…

No more blues, I’m going back home
No more blues , I promise no more to roam
Home is where the heart is; the funny part is
My heart’s been right there all along

No more fears, and no more sighs
No more tears , I’ve said my last good-byes
If travel beckons me I swear I’m going to refuse
I’m going to settle down, and there’ll be no more blues

Everyday when I am far away
My thoughts turn homeward, forever homeward
I’ve travelled round this world in search of happiness
But all the happiness I found was in my hometown

No more blues, I’m going back home
No more blues, I’m through with all my wanderings
Now I’ll settle down and live my life
And build a home and find a wife
When we settle down, there’ll be no more blues
Nothing but happiness
When we settle down, there’ll be no more blues.

 

Leave a Reply

