Mama vs. 1/2 Crab (repost)

So don’t watch this video if you’re a crab rights activist.  I originally took this video in the summer of 2005, but didn’t get around to posting it until December of 2005.  Now it’s February 2008, and I just discovered I had for some reason set this video to private.  Whoops.  I’ve reset it to public, and to celebrate, I’m reposting it here.

So the story is that my cowsins and I bought a bunch of seafood for a seafood boil, and it was cowsin C’s job to buy a crab.  She showed up with a big crab, and since it was already steamed, we were going to leave it for last to go in the pot.  Well, we filled the pots and finally it was time for the crab, so we opened the package, and that’s when we realized, the crab wasn’t steamed at all; it was alive.

Since the pots were mostly full and already cooking, the only way that crab was going into the pot was in pieces.  All of us were pretty squeamish, but we managed to talk the guest of honor, my mama, into doing the honors.  She was reluctant to come out of retirement, but really, we were all too scared to do the deed.   And as you can see in the video, the crab didn’t like being chopped in half.

If I had known it was alive, and had an empty pot, I would have steamed it whole first, instead of chopping it up.  Just in case you’re wondering, it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

