That’s a load off my chest…

On Thursday, May 21st, I turned in my notice at Praxis Language.

There were a few gasps of disbelief, but mostly handshakes and congratulations.  I was asked to keep it under wraps for a while, until they came up with a strategy for the big announcement.

I waited for over a week for this magic strategy to present itself, and finally realized that what was going to happen; we were going to wait too long and botch the big announcement.  Botching a big announcement is one of the things we do best.

So I said, look, I know my team, I know my listeners, let us take care of this one.  So we recorded the podcast and released it today.  Finally!

I am grateful for all I’ve learned at SpanishPod.  It’s been a great experience, and as a teacher I’m lucky in that SpanishPod is a sparkling record of what I’ve done in the last year and a half.

In fact, it is very much in my interest that the company finds a suitable replacement for me and grows profitable.  Though I won’t be getting any monetary benefit from SpanishPod’s future success, my name will be linked with SpanishPod as long as those lessons, videos, and shows stay online.  SpanishPod will always be my professional calling card, and I’m extremely proud of what our team has been able to accomplish.

What’s next for me?  I’m going to duck out of the spotlight for a little while.  Not too long, though, I mean, I do know a thing or two about making podcasts now, so I doubt you’re hearing the last of me.

One thing that I want to make absolutely clear:  I am immensely proud of the sPod team and I cherish their friendships.  That’s right, even Leo’s… ha ha ha

2 thoughts on “That’s a load off my chest…

  1. Someday I’d like to hear, as Paul Harvey used to say on the radio when I was a kid,….”The rest of the Story”

    The podcast was a nice way to go out.

    I’ll be looking for your next podcasting adventure.

    You know where to find me…Catch ya on the flip side 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: the Year of JP « you don't have to read v2.0

Leave a Reply

