Oh dear God!

Hey, I hope everything’s going well for you.  I’ve been thinking a lot about your offer lately.  First of all, I want to tell you how grateful I am for all you’ve given me and for all you’ve taught me, I really do feel blessed.  Second, I’m glad  that you thought of me for this job, you’ve always had a more faith in me than I’ve had in myself, one can’t help but feel flattered.

Here’s the thing.  The place you want to send me sounds awful, and I just don’t need that kind of aggravation.  Besides, I’ve never been that far east; people there are wicked, they have strange customs, they even talk funny; it doesn’t sound like something I’d be into.

Also, I want to be honest with you; the message you want me to tell them is kind of a bummer.  People want to be uplifted, they want to feel good.  If I go in with your threats of violent death, they’ll just get defensive, and even defiant, and you know how those people are.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about my family and my friends, and I really just want to stay closer to home nowadays.  I’m comfortable here, I have a life, I don’t have anything to prove anymore.   This is why I worked hard all my carreer, right?  what good is it being prosperous if you don’t take time to enjoy it?

I’ve got some vacation coming to me, and I’m going to take the opportunity to take a trip and drop out of site for a while, maybe take a cruise.  I hope you’ll respect my privacy and my decision in this matter.  Don’t take this the wrong way, but you can be very insistent, and frankly I know how you are when you don’t get your way.  Please understand that I just want to enjoy myself, and get as far away from work… and you… as possible.

So my answer, unfortunately, is a ‘no,’ as I do not feeel I am the right man for the job, and I have no interested in going to Nineveh.  I do hope for your sake you’ll find someone to fill the position, someone who shares your vision and who can see it through to success.

Best regards, Jonah.

Leave a Reply

