My Linguistic Autobiography, 1st Update

So a few years ago, I posted My Linguistic Autobiography, modeled after an assignment given in a course called “US Latinos” at the University of Michigan, a course which I graded for Prof. Aparicio.

(I’m watching the Good Eats 10th Anniversary Special.  I would have liked to have done a 10th Anniversary SpanishPod special, but alas, it was not to be.)

So here’s the update….

After two years spending eight hours a day with two Mexicans and a Basque, my Spanish has 1) improved , 2) deteriorated, and 3) Mexified.  It’s improved in that I’m a lot better at swearing now (even though I don’t recommend that for 2nd language learners), and I know a lot more ridiculous words (i.e., “a la campechana” is a beef and pork mixture!).  My Spanish deteriorated in that I don’t make an effort anymore to speak correctly, just let the mistakes come out.  And my Spanish has Mexified in pronunciation, intonation, and lexicon…. Although I don’t hear it at all, at least one dominican lady accused me of sounding Mexican.

My French and Italian is about the same as it was a few years ago, French being stronger.  I’m actually speaking a little bit of French in the office now.

Anyway, the big development is my Mandarin, which I can speak at a lower intermediate level; my comprehension is quite a bit less.  Obviously I could survive in Shanghai, chat with the cleaning lady and my landlord.  I can get anywhere in a taxi.  I’m speaking quite a bit of Mandarin in the elevator with Amber.  I don’t much expect to resume my studies, but you never know.

I might be taking classes in the business dept  first.  Once that’s done, I might try to go back to French, Italian, or Mandarin before starting something new.   Maybe.

Or maybe I’ll just move to Brazil.

2 thoughts on “My Linguistic Autobiography, 1st Update

  1. Pingback: My Linguistic Autobiography « you don't have to read v2.0

  2. I just went back and read your Linguistic Autobiography. Having read it, I have to ask…why aren’t you doing a PhD in Linguistics?!?! We have much more to discuss, dear friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

