I met GrammarGirl!

I went to the lovely and talented Mignon Fogarty’s book signing, for her new book The Grammar Devotional.   She is, of course, better known to the masses as GrammarGirl.

I showed up to the reading, and after that and question time, we lined up to get our copies signed.  Mignon recognized me!  And she asked me to hang out after.  She made a point to introduce me to her publishing rep (so nice of her!  he was not impressed with me) and after that we went to dinner with her friends on the Upper West Side.

The inside scoop:  when she pronounces “often” it rhymes with “soften,” just like how I pronounce it!  And her most recent podcast, she explains that “I feel bad” is Standard English, and “I feel badly” is NOT.  This overcorrection has always annoyed me.

(Not that I care much about Standard English…)

Leave a Reply

