Springtime in Manhattan

The warm weather has finally come back to Manhattan, and my social calendar is starting to fill up again.

Today I went with J to Times Square for karaoke league party.  Yes, there was a bomb scare there a couple days ago, but yawn.  As I walked past the ABC/ESPN news board, I saw that the Suns were wearing “Los Suns,” which instantly made me a fan.  The club I was meeting J at is on West 46th Street, which is Little Brazil, but I only had 30 minutes to eat, so I ducked in for some Indian food.  While I was eating, I heard J’s voice at the cash register (I imprint on voices the way most people imprint on smells) and I turned around and yelled him over to my table.  I had lamb curry and mustard greens; J had lamb biriyani and only ate about a quarter of it.  We tried to give the rest of it to some homeless people but we honestly couldn’t find any… in Times Square!  Stupid Bloomberg!  J even went into the subway station….

Anyway, we were out at the party until eleven, and then took the 1 train back to Battery Park City.  When I got in….

When I got in my LP pandeiro had arrived in the mail, and I was so excited, Bloco asked me to open it in the lobby.  I had been regretting that I hadn’t held out for a more expensive Contemporanea but I am kind of in love with this LP that I now own.  It’s light and it’s jangles are subtle.  I still have to pull the ring and tape the back, but I’m totally in love with it.  I should find a soulful portuguese name for her…

Tomorrow is laundry night. Thursday is a technical rehearsal with Manhattan Samba, and Friday is the Samba New York workshop, Thai food, and A’s party.  Saturday is prolly wedrepco, and Sunday is something else, not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

