Leisurely

All we have to do now Is take these lies,
And make them true, somehow
All we have to see
Is that I don’t belong to you,
And you don’t belong to me!

Yesterday, I cleaned out my desk at the office and left the Innovative Language Office for the last time! I was happy to accept the severance package and have the rest of the summer off. The bosses expressed some concern for my future; they don’t know that I have a getaway car revving it’s engine in the alley.

I went over to the studio and said goodbye to Jake, and then met Fernando at Waldy’s for some ovoid wood-fire pizzas, as we caught the first period of South Africa vs. Uruguay.

Later I met P at Guitar Center to look at drums. We looked around there, and Drummer’s World in Times Square, and then decided, screw it, I’ll sell him my own gear. So then we were in Times Square and my hunger was telling me it was time for protein. Grr!

So P says, “Let’s go to Hawaiian Tropic, the girls are pretty there!” And I said, ok! What can I eat there? And P said, hmm, let’s go to the Stardust!.

Ellen’s Stardust Diner is where Broadway actors wait tables and belt out songs for delighted tourists. The place was packed with overweight small town Americans (like me), eating their burgers and salads. The wait staff worked hard, serving everybody while belting out the Broadway classics. It was a spectacle. If I’m ever back in this town with wide-eyed, white shoes-wearing, camera and water bottle toting tourist who wants to see some American razzle dazzle I’ll take them there.

Then I came home and bought a one-way ticket to Vegas, and found a spot on the calendar for my own going away party.

The coolest thing about yesterday was sharing the good news about my paid summer of leisure. I told my family first, then my closest friends, colleagues of course, and then finally Facebook and this blog. Some people in Asia and Australia found out before I was able to text some folks here in Manhattan. It made me realize how thankful I am that people from far away have kept in touch.

Anyway, all this is very new; people keep asking me about the plan, and the plan is I don’t know what the plan is. I liked New York to begin with, but I have a feeling I’m going to like it even better now that I’m not working 10:00 to 7:00.

That song above that I quoted, it came out in the spring of 1990, when I was graduating from high school, and has followed me throughout my adult life as a kind of victory song.

Tonight: dinner with friends, samba rehearsal, tacos after, who knows. I might go to La Superior in bBurg this afternoon for Mexico vs. France. It seems like a nice day to walk, actually…

One thought on “Leisurely

  1. And I thought I was moving fast… 😉
    Here is what I wrote on the last page of my PhD thesis. Strangely enoguh, there was more truth in it than I anticipated at the time of writing. 🙂

    I need to tell you now
    As we leave
    That it’s much worse
    Than you would believe
    And no matter how far
    You think you’ve been
    The beginning
    Well, that’s where your are
    So I’m using my last match
    To put a fire up on every hill
    And burn down Pleasantville

    Verse from the song Here in Pleasantville by Jakob Dylan

    Like

Leave a Reply

