Gobble gobble!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy Thanksgiving, you all.  For breakfast I made chilaquiles verdes con pollo asado. There was no time for onions or cilantro, sometimes you just gotta eat breakfast.  …and then shoot photos of your breakfast and make them into a slide show and post them on your blog.

I’m looking forward to making chilaquiles verdes with leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

It is great to be back in Seattle for Thanksgiving after three years away.  Western Washington has been in a deep-freeze lately; snowfall started on Monday and I’ve been all but shut-in ever since. My heater shut off when the condensate line froze (see photo), and it was no fun to be cold, but a space heater in my bedroom kept me toasty.  The heater is back on and the house is warm now, so I’m guessing the freezing spell has broken and the thaw is back on.

The clan gathers in West Seattle today, my sister and I are making a couple of pies.  Actually, I better get started on that.  I will in a minute.

So I have some strong opinions about turkey; I’m baffled by the impulse to buy a big ass turkey that barely fits in the oven and then baking until dry.  I think people are obsessed by that brief visual where the big beautiful whole roast comes out of the oven, but then unfortunately people have to pretend that it’s delicious and fill up on potatoes.  I’ve always advocated buying two small turkeys instead of the one big one; if I were cooking this year I’d break the turkey into parts and roast it that way.  Anyway, we’ll see how it goes today, and since I’ll be with family I’ll be thankful no matter what.

Once in grad school my asian american cohort’s turkey day was hijacked by a bossy white woman.  She mocked me when I said I’d roast some vegetables and declared that Thanksgiving was all about salt and grease, and that her family ran a restaurant and that she would handle the turkey.  She of course jammed the turkey full of stuffing, which is a festival of salmonella, and then the turkey turned out dry as chalk.  All of us, every singe one of us, were better cooks than that woman, but we let her boss us around because her perceived ethnic authority over Thanksgiving was too annoying to challenge.  Later we all played monopoly and we DESTROYED her, which was hilarious because we were nice about it.  It’s so funny to be nice to overly competitive people.

For my non-American friends and readers, if you’re lucky enough to be in the US during Thanksgiving, I hope you can enjoy this holiday with us someday; it’s absolutely the best.  If you can find some people who know how to cook, ignore all the lipsynching of the Macy’s parade, and forgive the horrible atrocity that this holiday is based on, then yes, it is a wonderful holiday.  I mean imagine, Americans take TWO days off from work for this…

Ok, enough blogging.  Time to set the tv to football and make some pies.

Leave a Reply

