Rice Mix

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My favorite rice is Nico Nico Calrose rice, which is the rice I grew up on.  Unfortunately, due to my stupid diabetes, I shouldn’t eat my favorite rice anymore, because it brings a glucose plateau followed by a crash.  Guh.

So the slideshow above is of the rice mix I eat now; whole grains means the glucose is more evenly released over time.  This time I chose long grain brown, oregon wild, bhutan red, and barley.

In the mid 90s, my mama switched to basmati rice at home, as it reminded her of the rice she grew up with in the Philippines.  My sister and I were annoyed; I asked if she could make REAL rice (i.e., Calrose Niko Niko).  Of course my mother is not from the generation that makes separate food for picky kids, so we choked down that basmati rice.

2 thoughts on “Rice Mix

  1. “…my mother is not from the generation that makes separate food for picky kids.” And look! You grew up to be an adventuresome lover of all kinds of good food. Coincidence?

    Like

Leave a Reply

