Tuck in, then.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few years ago I caught a Naked Chef episode part way in (below).  He said he was making a “fry-up,” which was a new British vocabulary word for this brown boy in Seattle.  I would go on to learn plenty more British vocabulary in my worldly travels.  That was years ago.

The slideshow above represents my most current memory of the dish.  I had some tomatoes, some roasted italian sausages, and some chopped onions, so I threw them in my favorite egg pan and cracked two Grade AAs over them, covered the pan with a lid, and voilà, a late lunch.

For a long time I assumed that’s what a fry-up was; a chunk-filled egg frisbee.  Later when I learned things like a ploughman’s lunch (as far as I can tell, it’s chunks of stuff on a plate) or a toad-in-the-hole (sausages baked into some Yorkshire pudding), Jamie Oliver’s midnight fry-up seemed to fit nicely into the set of the English food I was newly acquainted with;  English, chunky, embedded, and funnily-named.

One day I went to make me a chunk-filled egg frisbee, so I looked around for it on the web… and came up with nothing.  What’s more, I soon came to realize that the typical English fry-up was not, in fact, a solid heterogeneous unity, but rather a crowded plate of individuals, a huddled mass yearning to breathe free.  I looked and looked for the original which I had only half saw, and found… nothing.

Had Jamie Oliver led me astray?

After my lunch/photo-shoot (above) I decided to look again, and found the original video on an obscure youtube channel; it had only had 17 views, and mine was the 18th.  Seeing it in its entirety for the first time, I saw the part I had missed, where he said that it was an original technique of his.

So now I do it too, only on a smaller scale.  And through the magic of the internet, it seems I’m not the only one; much to the dismay of Kabul, a Muslim gentleman in Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

