I Love Shoutouts!

I love shoutouts!  I don’t get them often, but when I do, I always feel like a hotshot.  I think my first shoutout ever may have come from the kids at kalyespeak (00:11:42).  Ah the memories…

______

Remember this one, a while ago?

The story is that I was chatting with my friend N, who at the time was a traffic reporter in Brisbane, Australia.  Apparently he sat in an office and at the appointed times, various local radio stations would throw over to him.  So on this day we were chatting, and he said, hold on, I gotta do the oldies station, and I said, ooh, I’ll listen on a live stream, and you can do a shout out to me!  So the next thing I know I’m listening to this crazy traffic report that goes something like:

…More problems on the Pacific Motorway; JP just called in and said there was a big slow down at Wollongabba approaching Greenslopes…

And I was so excited I nearly jumped out of my chair.  I wish I could have recorded it.  Even without the stealth shout out, it was wild just listening to a regular old traffic report with crazy names and places and that wild Foster’s-commercial accent!  The only thing that would have made it better was if the traffic could have involved a kangaroo or Olivia Newton-John (which I know is not funny to Australians).

____

I consider J to hold the rank of colonel in the SpanishPod Intern Corps, even though the marketing department had him doing some stupid report most of the time which I’m sure  they did not even read.  This kid speaks all the languages I speak, except better, and he’s traveling all over the damn world earning Fulbrights and junk; living the life that I thought I’d be living right out of college.  You can follow his travels at his blog, but if you’re like me and love to hear shoutouts to me, you can check ol’ Jeff out at time index 2:44, from the top of the Dentelles de Montmirail; Provence, France.

2 thoughts on “I Love Shoutouts!

  1. Pingback: A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood « you don't have to read v2.0

  2. Pingback: New Blogs: The Next Generation « you don't have to read v2.0

Leave a Reply

