Strange Days

I don’t have a lot of time to post today, so here’s a couple of quick bullets.  It’s been strange lately.

  • Ever since the Snownami a couple weeks ago, I’ve been on a crazy sleep cycle, one where if I don’t take a nap in the afternoon, I feel like I’m going to die.  I suspect I need to hit the gym to break this pattern, but I’ve been busy with grades, and you know how it is.  I actually went to the gym tonight, instead of going to TMI Tuesdays at the Bottleneck, but a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do.  Strange, no?
  • I forced myself to get up early this morning, left the house at 7:05 am.  I was pumped that I was going to be able to make coffee and run off some copies before class this morning… Unfortunately my friend B called, said he had a flat tire.  I’m happy to give him a lift, of course, so it turned out that we ended up squeaking into work just before the bell.  C’est la vie, quand même.
  • I think that today I managed to convince my 4th year classes that they wanted to stop speaking English all the time in class.  A lot of this has to do with Benny the Irish Polyglot, who has become an important character in my classroom, whether he likes it or not, pobrecito.  They asked me if Benny was really going to speak Chinese at the end of three months, and I was like yes, of course.  Why wouldn’t he?  The language instinct is so strong, and he’s doing it full time, plus studying hard, so why not?  And by the way, I continued, you all could be fluent in Spanish by June if you’d only speak Spanish more, and quit poisoning the learning chemistry with English all the time.  I set them up with appointment partners, and they were actually into it.  This actually might be a turning point in my teaching career; the students finally believe.  Strange, no?
  • Did I mention that I made it to the gym tonight?  Weird. Even weirder: the gym TVs were showing that Rick Santorum has swept Missouri, Minnesota, and Colorado.  What is this world coming to?  Apparently it’s not super big news; they’re not talking about it much.
  • “Olympic Week” is coming up at work, and I find myself making a Sing Off style acapella arrangement of the Ke$ha song “Blow” for Team Faculty.  Did I tell you my life was absurd?
  • I’ve started to fantasize about my summer.  I think my ideal summer would be spent in Taiwan, near a beach, with a couple hours of Mandarin tutoring a day.  We’ll see, though, I also have a free place to stay in Shanghai.  I was also thinking about hanging out in the Philippines or Brazil, but those might be long shots.

One thought on “Strange Days

  1. A borderline diabetic acquaintance has been substituting oatmeal for the starches in his diet, and he is seeing positive results in energy level and general well-being. Glad to hear you made it to the gym. The benefits of exercises cannot be over-emphasized. Summer in Taiwan at the beach sounds like fun. Have fun teaching your classes, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

