Once more behind the great firewall, dear friends, once more

So I said goodbye to Aussie L tonight; he won’t be around when I get back from Shanghai… hopefully!  I’m was kind of worried about tomorrow’s early morning, and a little tired actually, so it didn’t occur to me to get all sentimental until I was in the cab speeding away.  Meh, I’ll see him online.

So speaking of my trip to Shanghai, I’ve had it in my head that my flight to Shanghai leaves at 10:50 am, but a quick double check shows that 10:50 am is when my flight arrives; it actually leaves at 9:00 am.  So if I want to arrive 2 hours before, and give myself an hour and a half to get there on the bus… I’m looking at a 5 am wake up.  Guh.

Anyway, here’s how it’s gonna go when I’m in Shanghai… I will be behind the Great Firewall, so I won’t be able to access Facebook or Twitter.  I’m not sure if I’ll have direct access to wordpress or not, but if I don’t, I will continue to post to this blog by email.  My posts will have no pictures or formatting, will probably be full of errors (I often edit after publishing, sue me) and will have absolutely nothing negative to say about the People’s Republic of China.  When I get back to Taipei in a couple of weeks I’ll be able to get back in and make corrections.

If you comment on my posts, I will be able to see the comments, but won’t be able to post responses until I’m back in the free world.

For my friends in Shanghai, I’ll get in contact with you once I have a phone number.  I have a cool place to stay, a Mandarin teacher lined up, and my boy D is picking me up from the airport, so I’m all set.

As for tomorrow morning, I keep trying to tell myself I’m going to take the bus, and NOT take a 1000塊 cab ride… that’s $35 USD!  Actually $35 isn’t sounding all that bad at this point…

oops almost forgot:  吧声 bāshēng beeping your car horn.

Leave a Reply

