Tough Day

It was a tough day today. I’m sure it will be better tomorrow.

I went to bed early last night, and I posted on Facebook that I was going to sleep in. Because of a late start and a schedule rotation and a little bit of mercy, my first class this morning didn’t start until 10:45 am.  Sweet right?  Sleep until 8 am!

Unfortunately my allergies and a tummy ache woke me up at 4 am.  I played a game and did some pre-dawn facebooking.  There was an email from a listener who said that my use of “Nahyeli and I” in an objective position grated on his ears.  I had a chuckle and then went back to sleep.  My radio alarm came on at 6 am, and I meant to get up and turn it off… but I ended up drifting in and out of sleep with the radio blaring.  Finally, when it shut itself off at 8 pm, I decided to get out of bed.

I didn’t realize until I went to make breakfast that I was all out of eggs.  Sigh.

My commute was a comedy of red lights; it took about twice as long as usual.

When I got to work finally, I made the coffee (which was delicious) and then tried to get ready for class.  Unfortunately the internet was down all day, so I couldn’t facebook about my study hall.  More importantly the presentation I worked on for two hours was inaccessible, so I didn’t get to ask my students their (subjunctive-laden) opinions on Margaret Thatcher’s passing, on North Korean saber-rattling, or a baby snuggling with three puppies.

The internet was down all day… what a mess.  The teachers actually showed up in the faculty lounge and ate lunch together, it was barbaric.

I had a meeting after school, and then I came down to the cafe.  And the outlet is not working.

Tough day!  Oh well, at least there were no super villains involved, like tough days in the past.  Tomorrow will be way better.

One thought on “Tough Day

Leave a Reply

