Oyster Saturday

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I was at an oyster bar in downtown Seattle last night, where they’ll shuck oysters for you, $33 per dozen.

I was like, wow that’s expensive, but maybe I should try something new…

Then I looked at the shelf, and the oysters were tiny.  I could tell that, when opened, they were going to be the size of contact lenses, and every bit as flavorful as a plastic contact lens.

Why are people paying money to eat those?  I looked at the descriptions, and they, which invariably explained each kind of oyster as “mild,” “extra-mild” or “disposable contact lens.”

So needless to say I didn’t order any oysters.  Instead, I went to Mutual Fish myself this afternoon, and bought a couple dozen oysters for lunch today.  I got some Dabob Bays and then splurged and got some Shigoki, and still came out better than if I had ordered a single dozen at the Brooklyn.

Both oysters are small, but not contact lens small; both are the size of a lovely half bite.  The Dabob Bays seem a little wilder, a little trickier to shuck.  The Shigoki are beautifully farmed, perfect deep cups with out a trace of barnacle or wildlife involved. The Shigoki are cultivated by Taylor, which is the closest thing to Big Shellfish we have in the Puget Sound area.  (I say “Big Shellfish” but they don’t show any signs of being an evil corporate conglomerate)

They look better in the restaurant than on my plate, and that’s because in the restaurant they open the oysters just like I do, but then they flip them over and serve them on the lid side of the shell, to hide their knife cuts.  Of course, in flipping them over, all the juice from the cup side falls onto their cutting board.  In my mind it seems like a shame to lose all that juice.

Leave a Reply

