A dream, a rule, and a sunset

20130619-230553.jpg

 

A dream.

Last night I dreamt I was talking to some people, and they were nodding and responding appropriately.  I realized later I was talking to them in Chinese, and they weren’t Chinese speakers, but they said it was obvious what I was saying and no big deal.

This has happened to me in real life; I had an extended conversation with someone in Spanish who wasn’t really a Spanish speaker… a Venezuelan friend uncomfortably it out to me.

Later (not today) I’m going to write a post about “language hijackers;” who they are, why they don’t usually bother me, and what I do if they do start to bother me.

A rule.

I’ve been saying for a long time that I’m going to write a post about sample sentences, how to write them properly, and why it’s important.  Today is not the day I’m going to write that post.  But just in case I forget, I want to include this rule:

Sample sentences are supposed to help you understand the target vocab/text/language; they are not supposed to confuse you more.  New rule:  every time you have to look up grammar or vocab from a sample sentence that’s above your level, you get to kick the textbook author in the face.

A sunset.

Rather than grinding out the vocab and grammar today, I took a delicious nap.  Then I drove to Seaside to eat pho, and when I got there, it was closed.  Brutal.  But it was also sunset, so I went to the beach and watched the sun set over Monterey Bay, before heading back to grind out the vocab and grammar.

The workload in my classes, it’s too much.  We are told to study over twenty new words a day, and we have no idea which ones are important and which ones we’ll never see again.  We could totally handle this quantity of content if there was more practice and less analysis.  There’s not.

On the other hand, I feel like I’ve been placed at exactly the right level, and I like everybody, and I like the class.  That has NOT always been the case over my career as a serial summer-intensive student.  Count em: this is the SEVENTH summer language intensive that I’ve taken, and so far this is the one that I feel the best about.

Vocab  is below; I’ll review it in the morning.

  1. 暑假 shǔjià          summer break
  2. 疑问 yíwèn  question, interrogation, doubt.
  3. 属于 shǔyú  classified as, belong to
  4. 实践 shí jiàn  practice, put into practice, fulfill
  5. 接触 jiēchù  to touch, connect, access, be in touch with
  6. 维护 wéihù          to defend, safeguard, uphold, maintain
  7. 考 kǎo         beat, hit, take a test
  8. 类 lèi  kind, type, class, category, like
  9. 吸引 xīyǐn  to attract
  10. 不远千里 bùyuǎn qiānlǐ  make light/go to the trouble of traveling long distance
  11. 看来 kànlai Apparently, it seems that…
  12. 翻译 fānyì
  13. 发挥 fāhuī  to display, exhibit, express, elaborate
  14. 热衷于 rànzhōng  to feel strongly about, be fond of, obsession
  15. 相比之下 xiāngbǐ zhīxià  in contrast
  16. 经验 jīngyàn        to experience
  17. 大于 dàyú  greater than, bigger than, more than
  18. 放假 fàngjià         take a vacation/day off
  19. 采访 cǎifǎng  to interview, gather news, hunt for and collect, cover
  20. 干嘛 gànmá
  21. 特殊 tèshū
  22. 科学 kēxué
  23. 秩序 shìxù  order, sequence
  24. 研 yán                  grind, study
  25. 收费 shōufèi  fee, charge
  26. 大批 dàpī  large quantities
  27. 介 jiè  introduce, lie between
  28. 追求 zhuīqiú  to pursue a goal stubbornly
  29. 网页 wǎngyè
  30. 专业 zhuānyè  specialty, major
  31. 当 dāng ,dàng
  32. 打工  temporary work, casual job
  33. 能力  capable, capability
  34. 否则 fǒuzé  if not, otherwise, else, or else
  35. 絶大多数 juédàduōshù  absolute majority
  36. 组织 zǔzhī  to organize
  37. 形式 xíngshì  outer appearance, form shape
  38. 收获 shōuhuò  harvest, reap
  39. 留校 liúxiào  stay at the same school
  40. 比例 bǐlì  proportion, scale
  41. 仍 ren2 still, yet, to remain
  42. 聚集 ju4ji2  to assemble, to gather.
  43. 绍 shao4 to continue, to carry on
  44. 后顾之忧 hòugùzhīyōu  worries about future?
  45. 充分 chong1fen4 sufficient, ample
  46. 特长 te4chang2  one’s forte
  47. 可观 ke3guan1  considerable, impressive, significant
  48. 丰富 feng1fu4 to enrich, rich plentiful, abundant
  49. 零花钱 línghuā qián  pocket money

Leave a Reply

