Happy 2014

20140101-105800.jpg

Does anyone still read this blog? Does anyone read blogs at all anymore? I’ve been slacking in the last few months. I’ve always intended this blog as more of a personal journal than a publication for the whole wide world, and it feels kind of gross to go so long without publishing.

The photo above is poached eggs in a sauce left over from gemelini all’amatriciana, my first meal of the new year. The toast is made from a fruity, nutty loaf that Amber brought me from Vancouver when she and L were here to visit yesterday. We went to Oddfellows, the Rock Box, the Unicorn, and Pho Bac.

20140101-110815.jpg

Ok, so I have regular new year’s resolutions like everyone else; eat better, exercise more, spend less money, write music, be the man I want to be, yadda yadda. I do have some language projects:

  • Keep studying Mandarin. I’ve developed a policy now where I use simplified characters at work and in the classes I take, but I use traditional characters in personal correspondence. There will be summer travel or school or something.
  • Start Korean. Last month a friend of mine from high school asked me to write a book or publish a podcast about how to learn a language, so he could finally learn Korean. I’d love to actually do that, but usually when I tell people what’s required they tell me they can’t, list all their stupid rationalizations about how it’s impossible, and then attribute my success to some magic ability, which frankly I FIND INSULTING. So instead of doing that, I offered to take the class with him. Maybe I’ll get a book out of it, who knows. I did learn the Korean alphabet 19 years ago, but I’m quite rusty, so we’ll see. Saturday classes.
  • Maintain Spanish. I don’t have a plan for this, I just keep it up by spending time with Latino friends.
  • Revive French and Italian. I’m a little rusty on both, but I know it will come back to me if I just go hang out for a little bit.

Here are some language learning things I’m going to write about in the future:

  • The fascination with learning speed, and all the lies that surround it.
  • How to spot a communicative teacher.
  • How to be a native speaking ally for people learning your language.
  • What makes a good sample sentence
  • Why every language teacher should study Italian.

That’s a start, we’ll go from there. Happy New Year, everyone! I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments section here… and by here, I mean below, not on Facebook, where your comments will fade into Facebook oblivion.

3 thoughts on “Happy 2014

  1. Hey, J.P.(I’ve always thought having two letters as a name is cool). I’m subscribed to your blog by rss feed, ever since I knew you on french pod. You’re very enthusiastic teacher and enthusiasm is what most of teachers lack. Keep it coming.

    Like

  2. I still read your blog! I think you have GREAT ideas about language studying and I cherish the podcasts you made while at SpanishPod. Please keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

