Taipei 2014 Day 22

Yesterday morning, after the requisite bacon turnip cake and iced coffee, I went to class and talked my face off. For four hours. We took several breaks, and I bought peanuts to share with everyone, which everyone pretended they didn’t want.

After class I went with the Bros (one Eurobro and two Meiguo Bros) to the potsticker place around the corner, and somehow we managed to get Lisa 老師 to come with us. We ordered a bunch of potstickers, a bunch of boiled dumplings, a couple of plates of kangkong, a garlic seaweed salad, and then we each ordered our own bowl of something. Mine was 牛肉乾麵 dry noodles with beef. It was a lot of food, and for some reason, my custom of overeating to the point of forgetting my problems is not really a thing here. I tend to eat a reasonable amount of food here and then stop. I don’t know what the problem is. The funny part is that Pashan T is an eating champ; slow but steady wins the race, and I made jokes to the teacher about ordering more food for him.

It was raining hard when we left; unreasonably hard. It was the kind of hard rain that makes you think about extended family, and experiences you had with them as a child.

We hung out in Oven Coffee for a while, and then when it got dark Pashan T and I took a walk through the 公館 Gongguan neighborhood. We weren’t hungry but the street food looked good; I might have gotten a snack if it hadn’t been raining.

Eventually we ended up at Coda & Bongo’s for dinner. The place bills itself as North American comfort food. I had a souvlaki chicken salad, and Pashan T had a big plate of ribs. Rowr!

Later there was some school supply shopping and some toilet issues and a couple of Irish dudes making a surprise appearance.

Anyway, I ended up in Something Ales, where the owner sent some of his customers upstairs to the loft in order to clear a space for Pashan T and I. He offered us some of his own stash of black-skinned peanuts 黑金剛花生.

A local cat named Sam introduced himself to us and asked us about the emphatic “do” in English, the opposite of “don’t.” What’s the difference between saying “I wish it would rain,” and “I do wish it would rain.” So we gave him a very minimal lesson on the use of that particular auxiliary verb. Later in the conversation he taught us to say 超強,超弱,and 機掰. That last word he taught us in Taiwanese, and apparently it’s quite vulgar.

Leave a Reply

