#IceBucketChallenge: Behind the Shivers

So the famous ALS #IceBucketChallenge has been a mid-August fad this summer. The fad came and crested, and I was quite relieved that it seemed to be fading away, without my having participated.

And then Senyo tagged me, on the second to the last day of summer break. Guh!

I’ve challenged podcaster and educator Mark Pentleton of Radio Lingua, storm chasing photographer James Reynolds of Earth Uncut TV, and author Markus Zusak.  

I’ll admit I felt a little bold challenging these guys, and if they’re anything like me they’re cursing their challenger right now. Also, a few weeks ago I was pretty convinced that the #IceBucketChallenge was some slacktivism,  Plus, it’s been getting some bad press lately:

But then there’s the good press; a NYT article today said that they’ve raised $41 million; that’s nothing to sneeze at… That’s gotta be the opposite of slacktivism.  

For more info and to donate, please link below….

So why did it take two takes?  I set up my phone to record the video, I did it… and then when I went to press “stop record” it told me I didn’t have sufficient memory.  Heartbreak.  So I changed my shirt and did it again.  Advice to anyone who’s doing it:  take the water straight to your forehead.  I used a lot of ice and did it twice, but it wasn’t that bad.  

UPDATE:  btw, this video represents a personal achievement, as it is my first time working with iMovie for iPad.  Wasn’t that bad!  

Leave a Reply

