The Road Again: Back to LA

There are a couple of more selfies to share from my time in Vegas.  Mama and I went to Downtown Vegas on my last night there; played some video poker at a bar, and then walked along Fremont Street.  Then we drove down Fremont street, which used to be dangerous, but it was several blocks before we saw any police activity!

The next morning I started my drive back to LA.  I stopped in Baker to clean my windshield, and in Barstow for a double-double animal style.


  
Driving in the Mojave desert is a trip.  There are parts of the drive where your windshield is a huge view of a desert planet, and you’re just skimming across a narrow ribbon of engineering.  Sometimes your on a flat, and the mountians ring the horizon, and the road looks like it goes to the edge of the earth.  Other times you’re in the mountain passes and you can see for sixty miles; so far that the distance starts to fade into the vapor mirage.

The high desert ends with Victorville, and then it’s the San Bernadino Forest.  After that it’s Planet Freeway.

I have to end this blog post because the picture above is making me hungry.

One thought on “The Road Again: Back to LA

  1. Glendale!! … My old stomping grounds. So close to In & Out and not that far from the mountains and Fair Oaks Pharmacy. What could be better???

    Like

Leave a Reply

