Friends from Other Places

It’s 11pm and I didn’t do laundry this weekend, and my kitchen is a mess, and I don’t have any lunches ready for this coming week.  In other words, it was a great weekend.

Saturday morning I went to a crossfit workout, and I learned about the insanities of “Turkish Get Ups.”  I have a hard time getting up from the kneel.  We also did snatches, and coach J made me take the weights off my bar, which is FINE WITH ME.  My quads are starting to rebel against their new job in my life, which is to constantly get up from a squat while my back is straight.  These workouts are hard but I enjoy the endorphins afterwards, that feeling of well being.  It’s the same feeling I get after an ugly cry, the kind with uncontrollable sobbing.

After that, I made bought some ono fish and baked them up for tacos, brought the whole kit to M&F’s house for JB’s big birthday party.  It was supposed to have been a beach party but the cloudy weather made it a backyard firepit party.  I learned that when LA people start a fire, they buy a cardboard box filled with firewood, which has some kindling in it.  At first none us knew about the kindling because we all failed to read the box, and I offered to bust up some kindling if I could use a hatchet, which is a chore I kind of like to do.  They all looked at me like I was an alien from an other planet and brought out  a box of “fire starter” which is how they do it here, it’s a package from the convenience store that you light on fire, and that starts the kindling which starts the wood.  I felt I had stepped into the future.  I couldn’t believe there was an actual product that saved us from using wadded up news paper like some cave people, and that firewood and kindling came from a box.  The package of firewood was marked as from Madera, California, by the way, and all the Spanish speakers winked at each other.  Haha, Madera.

By the way, I think my fish tacos were a hit.  The fish market was a little reluctant to sell me ono fish for tacos, which further confirmed my suspicion that they don’t know much about fish.  Good product though.

Today I went to a yoga class at the box, my first yoga class ever.  I liked it mostly, it was strenuous and relaxing at the same time.  For the most part I was limber enough and strong enough for the class, but my knees didn’t like being in table position or, even worse, being in a tripod position.  These yoga sessions are once a week, I would consider going more.  After yoga I got a mysoor dosa and then hit the road for San Diego.

I met JG in Del Mar at a highly rated taqueria which I deemed mediocre.  After fish tacos we walked around La Jolla, got a beer in Pacific Beach, and then a sushi restaurant in downtown San Diego.  JG is in town for a surfing vacation, it was good to see him as always.

My knees feel a little bruised but we’ll see if I’m up for more crossfit tomorrow.  I have a feeling it’s going to be a big week.  

One thought on “Friends from Other Places

Leave a Reply

