Laser Eye Surgery, Round 2

I’m sure the entire universe remembers that I had LASIK in 2008 when I lived in Shanghai, China. It was probably a little scarier than I expected it to be, because of culture shock, but my vision improved tremendously and I no longer needed glasses. Life was good. They warned me that I shouldn’t box or go surfing, that cigarettes would dry my eyes, and that my vision would change again after age 40… “the change.”

Then around my 41st birthday “the change” happened and I was back to needing glasses for daily life. Of course the prescription was drastically milder than the coke-bottles I had needed pre-LASIK, and because of my habit of going to Asia I could get all kinds of fashion glasses just for fun.  In Shanghai I got three pairs of prescription glasses for $80 USD made while-you-wait in under 30 minutes. In Taipei in 2012 I got brand name frames with titanium and all the fancy coatings for about $200 USD; they were ready to pick up in 24 hours. The same glasses might have cost me $1200 in the US and would have taken a week or two. I liked those Taipei opticians so much I went back to them in 2014.  By the way, glasses are expensive in the US because of a monopoly, according to 60 Minutes.

Anyway, I’m 44 now, living in Southern California, which means I do yoga and Crossfit and have become a pescatarian. I asked my eye doctor about more lasers and he said SURE and set me right up.  I scheduled the zapping for Christmas break so I could recover away from teenagers.  It would have to be LASEK this time, which means longer recovery.

Here’s how it went down, as I understood it. They taped my eye open, dropped some numb drops in and then put some tiny egg rings over on my cornea. The egg-ringsdoc dropped some acid into the egg rings while an assistant counted to ten. After the ten count, the doc lifted fished out my corneas with a pokey thing; the corneas came out like plastic wrap. They washed the acid out and then there was some bright laser-ing. The doc put in some drops and then put on a clear “bandage contact lens” and then patted me on the behind and said, “get outta here, kid.” The procedure didn’t last 15 minutes.  They gave me a face shield. I went home and slept.

img_3435

Before and After

The next day they saw me again, did and eye test, and tussled my hair and told me to come back in a week.  Yesterday I went in for that week-after check in. The doc pulled out the bandage contacts and did an eye test, and then put another bandage contact just in my left eye and said it needed to heal a little longer.  My vision is much improved, and I can drive in the day time with sun glasses, but is continuing to improve every day.

How was it compared to my LASIK in China?  It was a lot more comfortable for me.  The acid drops were about a thousand times less stressful than when they “cut a flap” in my corneas in China (the process includes a cigar trimmer).  Recovery of vision is much slower with LASEK but so far so good. One good thing is that with the LASEK I don’t have that corneal flap to worry about long term… so boxing and surfing, here I come!

fullsizerender

 

Leave a Reply

