I used to live here.

It’s summer break and I’m back in Seattle.  It’s cold here; 53º F (not even 12ºC) and drizzly.  I asked my social network if it’s cold here; they said, “no.”  I asked if I have to bring long pants, they said “no denim.”  Both of those answers are correct Pacific Northwest answers, but they are dead wrong to someone who’s been living in southern California for the last two years.  It’s cold.

I’m not complaining, though; I just miss having a functional reason to wear jeans.

I found myself orchestrating a lunch reunion today with a local friend and some friends visiting from out of town. And I don’t even live here anymore! Old habits die hard, I guess.

Speaking of old habits, here’s where I’ve been eating:

  • Kozue. There was a huge line at Musashi’s and another huge line at Issian. I had long considered Kozue to be a the sad alternative; too hungry to go somewhere else. It surprised me that it was really good. Sushi culture is different in California, and I am sure I carried some of that baggage with me. I was pleasantly surprised that my miso wasn’t served with a ramen spoon, and that none of our nigiri’s were duplicates, and that the maki we ordered weren’t dressed with a squirt bottle.  Also, the fish was delicious.
  • El camión. I got a fish taco, a shrimp taco, and split a veggie tamal.  The tamal is spectacular; Salvadoran style brick of pudding-like masa wrapped in banana leaf.
  • Ivar’s Fish Bar. I have exposimatated in the past on fish and chips in Seattle. I think I eat more fish and chips than most people I know. Seattlites often look at Ivar’s Fish Bar as the most obvious, saddest excuse for fish and chips in Seattle.  Here’s what I know:  it’s Alaskan True Cod, it’s cooked to perfection by people who know when fried fish is done by eyeballing it (rather than looking at egg timers like Spud) so the fish isn’t overcooked (like at Spud). They give me a slice of lemon when I ask for it, and the white chowder tastes like heavy cream. There is an amazing view. That’s what I know.
  • Finally, my sister’s adobong pusit.  My sister H knows more about adobong pusit that I do, and her recipe is the neutronbomb.  She says it’s basically a calamares en su tinta or chipirones en su tinta recipe, only filipino adobo style; which means there’s a clear flavor of apple cider vinegar cutting through the richness of squid ink. At one point she was reducing tomatoes so I don’t even know; alls I know is that it was rich and vinegary and squiddy all at once.  We ate it with diced tomatoes and rice and did an reminisced about Barcelona E’s reluctant ambivalence about eating squid, which I shall here reducing to an imperfect haiku:

Barcelona E’s Regretful Ambivalence toward eating Squid, a Haiku:

Gender deception
Indicates theory of self!
Yet, so delicious!

 Also, my sister made tea leaf eggs. I just ate two, they are delicious. 

Leave a Reply

