I love Summer Break

Yesterday I met my friends Delridge D and Aloha C and his family in Pike Place Market. I got there a little early so I could walk around, which was a mistake because I wanted to eat everything I saw.  I met my friends where you always meet people at the Market  and then had lunch at the Athenian. By the way, the peaches are delicious this week and the green garlic shoots are huge.

After lunch we walked a little through the Market and showed the kids Victor Steinbruck Park, Piroshky Piroshky, the Beecher’s Cheese factory, the Gum Wall.

Later, there was little drive up to Kerry Park where Aloha C and I talked about firehouse recipes and strong feet. It was really good to see them. Aloha C said something amazing that I wanted to blog about, but I forgot. I walked home to my sister’s apartment from there.

Later my sister, Tico K, and I went to Kirkland to see Cowsin L and K’s month-old son. Along the way we stopped at Dakshin South Indian Bistro and I relapsed into my alarming addiction for South Indian vegetarian curries and dosas. It’s a problem. Later I got to hug my new nephew, who before I know it will be able to hold up his own head, speak English fluently, and marvel at how old I am.


Today I got up early and had breakfast at the 5 Spot; two eggs and “tempeh bacon.” Later I rode into Belltown with my sister on her way to work, and had her drop me off at Bedlam. I thought that from there, I would meet my friend 딤씨 at Tofully at noon.  At about 20 minutes to noon, I realized that Tofully was way down under the Chinatown Gate in the ID, so I hoofed it down to the bus tunnel and ran to a train, just as the door closed in my face and the train pulled away.

I did a set of air squats wating for the next train and stretched my hamstrings.  I don’t feel great about doing good mornings in the bus tunnel, it looks less like exercise than air squats.

A man passed me on the street, and as he passed I said hello; he greeted me at the same time and shook my hand. He said, I have a riddle for you, what’s the best vitamin for a friendship?

What’s the best vitamin for friendship?

I answered “Vitamin A” but I said “Vitamin Ehhhh”

He said, What the best vitamin for friendship?  B1 (Be one).

He told me second riddle, which I have disgracefully forgotten, but it was just as good.  Later he said, “I saw your face and I thought you looked a little down, just wanted to get a smile out of you.”

I smiled and thanked him and remembered what Memphis D told me back in Ann Arbor 20 years ago, that people of color should greet each other. That’s one of my favorite customs now.


I had a quick lunch with 딤씨 and ate a lot of tofu and it was magically delicious. 딤씨 and I talked about the Diversity Committee (and how it’s a trap), Wonder Woman, commutes, hard-headed family members, everything.

Later, walking up 4th Avenue, a man came out of the YMCA and said hello as he came around the corner, I managed to mumble a hello back, and I immediately noticed that it was the same man’s picture on the sandwich board.  I turned around and wanted to yell, hey that’s you on the sandwich board! But decided that was a weird thing to yell. He had just put on his sunglasses anyway.

I walked passed all the cool places today; Chinatown Gate in the ID, King Street Station, Occidental Park, the Pioneer Square Pergola, Waterfall Park. I’m currently hanging out in the reading room of the Central Library.

Not sure what’s next.  I have an Orca Card in my pocket, a belly full of tofu, and not much else to do. I love summer break.

 

 

Leave a Reply

