Rio Revenge, Days 8 and 9

Day 8 was a Sunday; no excursion, no mission, no class.

There are groceries every other block, many are branches of Zona Sul, but I went to the big one, and bought a bag of Japanese rice, dark tomatoes, green oranges, big bag of mixed nuts, laurel, bouillon powder. The assumption was that I might cook something.

I stumbled upon the Sunday hippy market in the Praça General Osorio and bought two t-shirts for my two baby nieces and decided it might be pasalubong day.

I went home and made arroz rojo (without onion, since I forgot it) and huevo con tomate. And then ate it all. I might have studied and taken a nap; there might have been some ukulele and/or pandeiro practice. Didn’t feel too much like going out into the world. Swept my room (sandy!). My host blew in and I met him for the first time.

In the evening I went back to the hippy market and bought colorful dresses for the girls, some refrigerator magnets, and a triangulo de samba for myself.

Later I went to the sushi restaurant and ate on the patio by myself. After I ordered the waiter asked me if I for real wanted the 22 piece party tray. I misunderstood his warning and ordered the 32 piece party tray instead. Finally I realized that was way too much food for someone on a diabetes medication, so I downsized to two maguro nigiris and a salmon skin maki. There was also a miso soup which they served me in a giant cafeteria soup bowl with a spoon. Ho ho ho. I will not be going back to that sushi restaurant but it was a good experience.

Notes from class

There was a mention of “vagina bread” today. I did not understand it when it was brought up in class and I still don’t know what it’s about. My Google search was cursory as I didn’t feel like falling down that rabbit hole to clarify.

The word for turkey in Porguguese is o peru, spelled the same as the country; a different country than the one we use that word to refer to in English. I gathered that o peru is also a slang word from penis. Not sure what that is about, but o brasil is also a slang word for vagina, according to TikTok.

Salsicha means hot dog. The all purpose word for sausage is linguiça. The word from hamis o presunto, which I was never going to guess. The ham, cheese, and tomato sandwich that apparently we like is called o napolitano.

O mamão is a big papaya; the small ones are called a papaya. A melancia is a watermelon. O melão is a cover word for all the melons, they all have proper names.

A bananeira dá a banana. The banana tree produces a banana. Reading books to my nieces made me thing that it was important to learn this formula of fruit tree vs. fruit.

Costumar works like soler. Use atrás just like the word ago or fa in Italian. The dictionary also has , which follows the same pattern as il y a (+ temps) or hace (+tiempo).

O tempero is the seasoning, it reminds me of timpla. The word for sauce is molho, and I’m not sure how it’s different from o condimento, condimentar.

Ao nada is a time adverb that means out of the blue.

According to P, ver to see and vir to come are cousins. Ver is straight; vir is gay and flamboyant. Comparing the two side by side in both preterit and present, vir always has something extra, and shows remnants of a nasal past. Here’s the sample sentence:

Ao ver uma pessoa bonita, o hetero , mais o gay vem cumprimentar. Hey, bitch…

The adjective for total disaster is ruim, ruína, ruins, ruínas.

Also, P confirmed that Ipanema is the LGBTQ+ capital of South America (a mecca, so to speak), which is something that I was suspecting through observation. However, I think businesses don’t put out a lot of rainbows and overt signals of friendliness or allyship due to a hostile mayoral administration.

Leave a comment